Boston Spa Academy Sixth Form

Mr Brennan – Director of 6th Form, Assistant Principal

Welcome to Boston Spa Sixth Form. I was immensely proud of the progress our students made in 2017 both academically and in terms of destinations. Our Level 3 Value Added score of 0.21 and Alps score of 1.01 put us in the top 15% of sixth form providers nationally. In addition, over half of our UCAS applicants achieved places at Russell Group universities and four students achieved places at Oxford and Cambridge. We are committed to holding students accountable to the highest academic expectations and in turn deliver high quality of student support in order to ensure all our students achieve and exceed their potential. Indeed, our mission can be summarised in the following core principles:

  • To create a culture of learning and progress
  • To ensure high quality teaching
  • To ensure progress through regular assessment and feedback
  • To provide a range of enrichment opportunities for all students
  • To hold students accountable to the highest academic standards and expectations
  • To build student resilience and self-belief
  • To inspire ambition in all students
  • To celebrate difference and diversity

Outstanding Achievements:

Joel Summerfield – A*A*A*A*

University of Oxford, Mathematics

Molly Lockwood – A*A*A*

University of Oxford, Spanish

Florence Toone – A*A*A*

University of Oxford, French

Helen Essell – A*AA

University of Cambridge, Geography

Charlie Davison – A*A*A*

University of Durham, General Engineering

Phoebe Coster – AAA

University of Durham, Biomedical Sciences

Katie Barlow – AAA

University of Liverpool, Medicine

Ben Cunningham – A*AB

University of Birmingham, Mechanical Engineering

Ben Cass – A*AB

University of Leeds, Computer Science

Cameron Dobbie – A*BB

University of Sheffield, Geography

Richard Mawson – A*BB

University of Manchester, Mathematics

Adam Dixon – A*BB

University of Liverpool , Physics

Chris Hepworth – A*BB

University of York, Mathematics

Luke Wetherall – A*BB

University of York, Mathematics

Molly Garbutt – AAB

University of Loughborough,  Sport & Exercise Science

Elliot Johnston-Coates – AAC

Kings College London, European Studies

Oliver Wright – AAC

University of Edinburgh, Psychology

Kavan Mankoo – AAC

University of Sheffield, History and Politics

Emily Tinkler – ABB

University of Leeds, French

Chloe Sutherland – ABB

University of Manchester, Sociology

Jack Orange – ABB

University of Leeds, Politics

Max Gibbins-Noble ABB

University of Northumbria, Film Studies